Ian Murray

Profile updated 7/07/24

Regional Qualification(s):




Phone Number(s):

020-7222-9330, 07768-646185

Contact guide


I have been guiding in London and driving people for exciting day trips out of London for over 15 years. I specialise in family and small groups of up to 6 people with me. I am interested in Royal history and WW II and Winston Churchill. My favourite locations out of London are Windsor, Stonehenge, Oxford and the Cotswolds.I have many repeat clients and work hard to establish more! I am very flexible and like to work with clients to cover their areas of particular interests.

Personal Interests:

Maritime Britain
Stately Homes & Country Houses
Sports & Pastimes
Walking/Mountain Climbing

Special Interests:


I am a keen walker and mountain climber and am familiar with all the mountain ranges in the UK. I would be happy to organise a mountain walk intinerary.

Stately Homes & Country Houses

As a member of the National Trust I have had a lifelong interest in this subject and am familiar with most of their properties.

Regional Tours

As a Driver guide I would like to offer personalised tours for up to 6 people to any region of Britain, Ireland, France or Belgium.

Maritime Britain

As a past Member of the Baltic Exchange I have had a 20 year career involved in the shipping business in the UK.

Business & Finance

After a 30 year career in the Oil Industry at senior level, I am familiar with all aspects of business practice in the UK.

Industrial Heritage

I was born and brought up in south Lancashire in Industrial heartland and qualified initially with a degree in Production Engineering.

Sports & Pastimes

I am a keen player of racquet sports and skiing. I am also keen on motor racing. I like to keep fit.

Walking Tours

I live in Westminster and would treat this as my specialist area in London. I also know the City of London very well from my business days.


This is one of my hobbies and I am a regular theatre goer. I am also a member of a Play Reading group which meets once a month.

International Links

In my previous career I travelled widely in Europe and America and I have lived in Australia for 8 years. I also hold an Australian passport as well as a British.


Windsor & Eton, 2012 Venues

Additional Qualifications:

BSc(Hons) MITG

Driver Guide:



Type Make / Model Passengers Air Conditioning Disabled Access
Car Volkswagen Caravelle SE TDI 174 6 Yes No