Guiding during and beyond the Covid-19 pandemic

OXFORD

OXFORD – LA « VILLE AUX FLÈCHES RÊVEUSES » , EXPRESSION DU POÈTE MATTHEW ARNOLD, ABRITE LA PLUS ANCIENNE UNIVERSITÉ ANGLOPHONE DU MONDE.

Ses 39 collèges individuels avec leurs chapelles, halls, jardins et «quads» (cours carrées) forment l’un des décors architecturaux les plus étonnants au monde.

Rejoignez votre guide privé pour une visite d’Oxford et soyez prêt à parcourir 1000 ans d’histoire. Visitez Christ Church, le remarquable collège qui a formé pas moins de 13 premiers ministres britanniques et de nombreux autres dirigeants mondiaux. Sa grande salle est le modèle de l’école de Poudlard, et les fans de Harry Potter apprécieront de découvrir les endroits exacts utilisés pour les films.

Le New College est niché sous l’ancien mur de la ville. Sa chapelle conserve encore une partie de ses vitraux médiévaux et son vieux chêne est entouré par le cloître du collège. Le collège est un autre lieu de tournage de films Harry Potter à Oxford.

Les collèges d’Oxford ont inspiré certains des ouvrages pour enfants les plus appréciés. Votre guide privé vous montrera le pub Eagle and Child, point de rencontre des écrivains CS Lewis ( Narnia ) et JRR Tolkein ( Seigneur des anneaux ).

Les autres attractions incluent les bateaux à fond plat distinctifs appelés «  punts  » qui sont propulsés le long des eaux stagnantes aqueuses d’Oxford à l’aide d’un long mât. Explorez les vastes collections de livres et de manuscrits du «  Bod  », la Bodleian Library – elle-même un autre lieu Harry Potter – ou les incroyables collections du musée Ashmolean. Les fans découvriront également des lieux rendus célèbres dans les films de Bollywood, ainsi que des séries télévisées telles que Morse , Lewis et Endeavour .

Cette visite peut être combinée avec la ville de Stratford ou le palais de Blenheim, la région des Cotswolds ou Bicester Shopping Village.

Des billets d’entrée sont également nécessaires pour certaines attractions.

Britains-Best-Guides-Oxford1-Christ-Church Britains-Best-Guides-Oxford2 Oxford University

If you require a guide with a private car to conduct your tour please tick above. This will send your request to one of our driver guides who are UK licensed, registered and insured.

If you like this tour, you may also like:

Oxford

The ‘city of dreaming spires’ is home to the oldest English-language university in the world.

Its 38 individual colleges with their chapels, halls, gardens and ‘quads’ (squares) form one of the most stunning architectural set-pieces in the world.

Join your guide for a tour through 1000 years of history. Visit Christ Church, the remarkable college that has educated no less than 13 British Prime Ministers and many other world leaders. Its Great Hall is the model for Hogwarts, and Harry Potter fans will enjoy standing in the exact locations used for the films.

New College nestles under the old city wall. Its chapel still retains some of its mediaeval stained glass and its ancient holm oak tree is surrounded by the college cloisters. The college is another of Oxford’s Harry Potter film locations.

Oxford’s colleges have inspired some of the most beloved children’s literature. Your guide will show you the Eagle and Child pub, meeting point for the writers CS Lewis (Narnia) and JRR Tolkein (Lord of the Rings).

Other attractions include the distinctive flat-bottomed boats called ‘punts’ that are propelled along the watery backwaters of the city using a long pole. Explore the extensive book and manuscript collections of the ‘Bod’, the Bodleian Library – itself yet another Harry Potter location – or the amazing collections in the Ashmolean Museum. Fans will also discover locations made famous in Bollywood films, as well as TV series such as Morse, Lewis and Endeavour.

Can be combined with Stratford or Blenheim Palace or the Cotswolds or Bicester Village.

Admission tickets are also needed for some attractions.

Mode of Transport

Similar Tours